Time

I will own the morning

and set my sights anew

on the opportunity for the purpose

that I must see through.

 

I will rule the day

with clarity, focus, and power

as seconds lead to minutes

culminating in the hour.

 

Not a second will be wasted

for the goal, it has been set.

Tempted though I am to rest

my work, it beckons, “Not yet.”

 

No setback can defeat me

for my will is iron strong.

To those who try to stop me

reality will prove you wrong.

 

For when at last, I look way back

and see all that I have done

I know all those seconds, minutes, hours, and days

that I have won.

 


Adam Buker is a freelance author living in Springfield, MO. When he’s not writing he’s usually cooking, playing with his kids, making music, taking photos, or otherwise pondering the mysteries of life.

Leave a Reply

