A Project in the Works Part 1

So the last two posts were just little off-the-cuff pieces that I wrote. I started off by just wanting to capture that same helpless feeling of desperation that most creative artists and professionals face as they struggle. Now, that I’ve read both blog posts, I’m debating on expanding on the two respective stories. There are concrete touches like the cigarette smoke that help connect the two stories together and make it plausible that there could be something there.

Unlike the sci-fi novel I’ve been working on, writing this has just been kind of a shoot-from-the-hip and see what happens endeavor.

Now, I’ve not mentioned the novel so far as there is a lot of work to be done on it, but it would be very remiss to start a writer’s blog without giving a little mention of it as well as updates.

The tentative title of the novel is called Organon: Daughter of Two Worlds. It centers on  14-year-old artistic, timid, intelligent Victoria Sparc. In the wake of her mother’s death, she copes with moving with her step-father far away from the only home she’s ever known. Like her mother, she has no knowledge of her mother’s past or relatives or even of her actual father, until a package with no known origin arrives on her doorstep. What it contains leads her to discover her connection to an unfamiliar world of advanced ideas, culture, and technology that has chosen to remain hidden for thousands of years.

I started making my first notes on this novel six years ago this month. Back in October of 2010, I learned that I was going to become a father for the first time in my life. A few months later, my wife and I learned that we were going to welcome a baby girl into our lives. At the time I didn’t know what I really wanted to pursue as a profession, but I knew I did not want to pursue a career in music. I began thinking very intently about the world in which my kid(s) were going to grow up. I knew I disagreed with most of the values our culture instills in our children, and so I wanted to create a different narrative that would inspire my children. I also knew I could not continue to work pointless day jobs that brought little pay and even less purpose.

In the midst of this storm of ideas and emotions, the concept for Organon was born.


Adam Buker is a freelance author living in Springfield, MO. When he’s not writing he’s usually cooking, playing with his kids, making music, taking photos, or otherwise pondering the mysteries of life.

Leave a Reply

