Here goes nothing…

So in my 33+ years of life I’ve had my fair share of personal ups and downs. I’ve lost and loved several times before marrying my wife. I had small triumphs and the glimmer of promise in my would-be career as a musician and composer, and I’ve had to deal with the fallout when I realized that I didn’t deeply want that career. I’ve had more philosophical and moral doubts about myself than I care to remember, and it seems like I’ve had to rethink the direction of my life and its purpose more times than I can count.

Yet now I’m finding within myself an odd place of unfamiliar peace as I write these very words as I simultaneously contemplate my past and look toward my future.

I’m starting this blog to document my journey as I struggle, grow, and learn at my chosen craft as a writer. The bulk of my postings will revolve around my craft, anything that inspires me, progress I’ve made in my business, short original fiction, and posts that touch upon my philosophy of life. I may write about other things from time to time, but one rule I’m setting purposefully for this blog is that I will not discuss politics. There are other people who share my political positions that advocate more effectively than I would be able to. More importantly, I want this blog to be positive. I want this blog to be a source of encouragement to anyone who is struggling with the same kinds of issues that I’m struggling with.  I don’t yet know what this new venture of mine will evolve into, but I definitely want my readers to come away feeling refreshed, pumped, and ready to take on the world.

So to kick this new thing off, I’m challenging myself to write five to seven posts per week for the next six months so I can make this thing a habit, plus at least one original short piece of fiction each month if not each week.


Adam Buker is a freelance author living in Springfield, MO. When he’s not writing he’s usually cooking, playing with his kids, making music, taking photos, or otherwise pondering the mysteries of life.

Leave a Reply

